The centennial of ȽÁU,WELṈEW̱ / John Dean
1st Donated BC Park
Established: December 9, 1921 | 2021 Centennial
Contact Jarrett for a complementary copy
PDF or Epub
CELEBRATING 100 YEARS OF THE PARK, the ancient history of ȽÁU,WELṈEW̱ (Place of Refuge) is explored and the centenary of John Dean’s unique gift is contemplated.
Only a century ago, in 1918 and 1920 John Dean spent his most days per year at his cabin named ILLAHIE. The public and friends visited, and they loved the atmosphere. The cabin’s location, Dean’s stories, the big trees, vistas, and the essence of place stirred visitors love towards his property, which surely inspired John Dean. In 1918, John Dean promised the Sidney Board of Trade a portion of his property for a reservoir. Through 1919 and 1921, John Dean worked with the provincial government to create DEAN PARK.
A century later, the mountains traditional name ȽÁU,WELṈEW̱ (Place of Refuge) was added to the parks title. Established on December 9, 1921, ȽÁU,WELṈEW̱／John Dean Park has the distinction as the first donated provincial park. Today this flagship park is expanded, protected, treasured, highly maintained, and remains a place of connection.